Y’all come in, now.

Welcome.

This started because someone told me I should write.

“About what?”
“Dogs. Food. Your experience in becoming a Southern transplant.”
“Uhmm…right. I’ll think about it.”

Much to my chagrin, I actually listened to that someone. I write about dogs. Now I’m going to write about food, especially about learning how to cook Southern-style, along with a few twists and tricks. It seems to be a tradition, here in the South, to treat food in a revered manner, along with the stories that come with it, and I’m happy to continue that tradition.

Now, the details. My recipes are going to be vegetarian, because I am mostly a vegetarian (I still eat fish). This is NOT going to be a blog where we argue the merits of eating meat or not eating meat; if you have questions or problems with that, please go elsewhere. Most of my cooking is with local, farm-fresh ingredients from Durham Farmers’ Market or my own garden, because in my humble opinion, food tastes best that way.

So, get yourself a glass of sweet tea (or your less cliched favorite beverage), season that cast-iron pan, and come cook with me.

This entry was posted in introduction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Y’all come in, now.

  1. wade vidal says:

    hooray!!! because I have eaten many of your wonderful dishes, its nice to have chance to try and recreate them. keep up the good work.

  2. Brenda Pugh says:

    I really enjoyed reading your blog yesterday. Will try this recipe. Keep it coming and let us in on all your secrets. Your writing is an easy read and holds my interest. Looking forward to the next one. Take care, dear.

  3. Alicia Clayton Vidal says:

    Now that I know your favorite leftover from Thanksgiving, I’ll make sure that there will be plenty! Also in regards to the “vibrating collards”, I’m surprised you could pull the bowl away from Seth. Keep up the good work, Love! We are really enjoying your website.

  4. Beck says:

    So glad you’re doing this!

Leave a Reply

