Burp.

flexing stomach muscles

No, no, you haven’t missed Thanksgiving. That’s just me, being silly and making a Thanksgiving-style dinner for Sunday after doing Thanksgiving prep. Next time, I’m going to hire some house elves.

Here is what I did:
-roasted pumpkins
-scooped pumpkin mush and let it drain for at least 8 hours
-washed and dried pumpkin seeds
-roasted sweet potatoes
-made sweet potato butter (recipe to come soon)
-made cranberry sauce with lime zest
-made cornbread for stuffing
-boiled potatoes and mashed them
-heated up gravy (i needed a shortcut!)
-made stuffing
-sauteed greens (kale and spinach)
-asked my partner to heat up sausages
-set the table
-eat
-nap for a little while with the entire family (including the dog) on the sofa
-roasted kabocha squash
– helped my partner strain squash + pumpkin puree through a food mill (i wring, he turns the mill)
-mixed pumpkin puree with sugars and spices and put in freezer

next day (today)
-made 4 crusts (go arms!)
-roasted pumpkin seeds (my favorite: 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp salt)
-made chocolate chess pie
-packed

whew. that should make up for the incoming 8-9 hours drive.

November 21, 2010

I don’t think I could end this post without a recipe, so I’m leaving you with my recipe for cranberry sauce with lime zest- it’s positively candy-like, but it’s a great taste refresher to heavier and creamier foods. I think I got it from back of an Ocean Spray bag, but it’s not there anymore or on their website, so here you go:

1 bag (12 oz) cranberries, picked and washed
1 lime
1 cup sugar
1 cup water

Boil water and add sugar, making sure that it is dissolved. Put in cranberries and zest lime using a microplaner. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 30 minutes. Test to see if it’s sweet and tangy (but not tart), and add more sugar by 1/4 cup to taste and let simmer for 10 more minutes.

I’m not sure what the schedule will look like, but if I don’t pop in before Thanksgiving, I just wanted to wish you a very delicious holiday and thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in holidays, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

