kale pesto spaghetti with butternut squash

Hi.

Still there with me? I survived Thanksgiving, and it was grand, except for the fact I got sick the next day. Fever, aches, cough, runny nose, you name it. I had it all. The worst part is, it got so bad I got fog-headed and couldn’t really function for a week, and I mean, literally. It was all I could do to remember to eat. I’m not ready for December, but I’m not worried about it, either. I may have accumulated a list of cold-fighting remedies and have gotten myself addicted numerous Korean (melo)dramas, though.

In any case, I have a backlog of recipes to share, winter-warming recipes that provide comfort in this cold season (what is up with the wacky Durham weather, by the way? It’s the coldest and earliest start to winter, ever, complete with first snow. I really hope this is not going to be the norm, or that at the very least, it means a even earlier spring). Anyway, here goes:

November 18, 2010

This is such a good way to use up two of the ubiquitous winter vegetables, kale and butternut squash. With some black olives and cheese, it makes for a wonderful lunch (it’s good cold the next day). You could also use quinoa instead of pasta, with good effect.

Kale Pesto Spaghetti with Butternut squash

adapted from Melissa Clark’s recipe in NY Times

1 bunch dinosaur kale (from Maple Spring Farms)
olive oil
1/3 cup pine nuts or walnuts, toasted
2-4 cloves garlic (from Cariopita Farm)
2 smallish butternut squashes (from Brinkley Farms)
grated Asiago cheese (Parmesan also works) (from Chapel Hill Creamery)
kalamata olives (to taste)
salt and pepper to taste
zest of 1 lemon
lemon juice from the same lemon
1 bag whole wheat spaghetti (I like Trader Joe’s)

Cut butternut squash in half, scoop out seeds, and peel the skin. Cut into 1″ cubes, and roast them in a 400F oven with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. The squash should be done in about 30 minutes- they should be soft but still keep their shape.

Blanch kale in boiling water until limp (about 5-10 minutes). Remove kale with tongs, and immediately put in spaghetti and cook until al dente (look on bag for instructions).

Chop the cooked kale roughly. Add kale to a food processor, and add pine nuts, 1/2 cup olive oil, garlic, lemon zest, salt, pepper. Blend until smooth.

Toss pasta with kale pesto, lemon juice, and kalamata olives. Serve topped with butternut squash and grated cheese.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to kale pesto spaghetti with butternut squash

  1. Ashlei says:

    Wow that sounds like a great winter dish.

  2. Pingback: kale pesto spaghetti with butternut squash (via The Accidental Southerner) « Live. Laugh. Dance.

  3. Hey, this looks great! I am going to try it next week! Thank you

  4. This looks absolutely wonderful. I recently started eating kale, and I love it. Can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I bought a two pound bag of kale for $1.25 (ridiculously cheap, so I had to buy it), but I have been running out of ideas to use it up. I’m so glad I came across your recipe! I can’t wait to try it!

  6. Jenther Gabmar says:

    Love it! Thanks very much for sharing.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    I love meat and its hard for me to eat dishes without it but with this one I guess with the good flavours mixed together I would not look for some. Great recipe

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  8. rosebeezy says:

    YUM, that looks wonderful! Yeah I’m adding that to my list of “to try” recipes.

  9. Mary says:

    Wow, I love the pictures. Thank for the post. I really love kale, but I have never had it prepared this way, I can’t wait to try it!

  10. I’m going to make this for lunch today =) I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

