Using the Pantry: Jam recipes

I seem to have a jam-making obsession. Every year I make too much jam and I give most of it away, but I still have a dozen or so jars to deal with.

The only problem? I generally don’t eat a lot of bread these days. So I don’t do much of jam-and-bread routine as often as I should (ha, ha), but I am using up jam in creative ways.

One of the relevations I had last summer was using up sungolds to make tomato jam, from recipes by White on Rice couple. Their tomato jam is just amazing. I’ve been using it to make the best grilled cheese sandwiches (it is heavenly with 8 yrs old aged cheddar, but I’ve also used it to make a BLT salad.

BLT salad with tomato jam vinagrette

Yes, a BLT salad. It’s basically salad greens, a handful of chickpeas, tempeh bacon, farmers’ cheese (from Chapel HIll Creamery), and tomato jam vinagrette. The recipe for jam-based vinagrette is here,, but you could also use apple cider vinegar or white wine vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. You could also use a smoky olive oil for interesting flavor. Some people recommend adding a tb or so of mustard, but I don’t want to overwhelm the tomato jam flavor.

January 23, 2011

Another way to use up some good fruit jam? Make a jam tart. It’s basically a sort of shortbread-cornbread cross crust with jam as filling. The hardest part is making the crust because the filling is all ready to go! I made this with blackberry preserves, and oh, it was so sweet to taste summer again. (I should note that my crust was not completely cooked, but whether this is due to crust being too wet (due to larger-than-normal eggs) or using the wrong baking implement (pie pan instead of tart pan), I can’t tell. I do recommend making sure that the crust is baked thoroughly.)

These experiences have definitely encouraged me to make more of these preserves this coming year.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

