Week in Review 5.13.11

May 8, 2011
Favorite sammich these days: BLT

In an effort to get back to blogging about food more regularly. I’m going to be experimenting with some formats. I’m thinking of Fridays as a way to review my week in food (eating and cooking!).

Currently Obsessed With:
Smoothies! Specifically, green smoothies. It’s a good way to use up the surplus lettuce from my garden. I should write up a basic smoothie recipe sometime soon.

Also, pickles. Greenhouse and baby cucumbers are in, and I’ve been making lots of quick-pickle recipes. I’m also contemplating making an antipasti-style cauliflower and carrot pickle. No more radishes, though; it’s definitely end of the radish season.

A Nice Moment in Durham:
Drinking Green Man ESB at Fullsteam and petting a 9-week old Great Dane puppy (so silky!). He wanted to sleep on my shoes, I think. Also finally tried Durham Cookies– a blue cheese/rosemary/cranberry cookie.

An Extremely Tasty Reason to use Twitter:
Pie Pushers. A full review coming soon, and their latest brussel sprouts pizza with corn and smoked gouda is just so unbelievably good. Their plain cheese is comfort food perfection. Go find them and have a pizza night- you won’t regret it. I believe their special ingredient this weekend will be beets.

Food I made too much of but am adoring having leftovers for lunch:
Japanese curry (the dinner of choice for anime superheroes)

Proudest Moment:
When I figured out the salad dressing that Toast uses. I think I’ve finally got it right. And I promise to share.

What I’m looking forward to this weekend:

  • making raw strawberry pie
  • planting more summer crops (southern peas, winter squash, summer squash) and herbs
  • looking for zucchini at Farmers’ Market
This entry was posted in friday feature, list. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week in Review 5.13.11

  1. wade vidal says:

    glad to have you back to food, looking forward to more post

  2. shari says:

    me too! pie pushers sound great and i’m eagerly awaiting the salad dressing recipe.

Leave a Reply

