Refrigerator Dill Pickles

Dill Pickles

I clearly have a pickling problem. I fully admit it.

So can we review refrigerator dill pickle recipes? (Note: I’ve never really found a good canning recipe for dill pickles that did not make them soft, and the idea of putting chemicals in the brine to make crisp pickles makes my head hurt. Let’s just say I’m fine with eating pickles seasonally, just to keep cucumbers from going bad in 1-2 days after picking.)

The ones on the left are from One Perfect Bite– it’s made rounds in Pinterest and I thought I’d give it a try. It’s very lemony, and is more like a half-sour than a full sour. They are very good and would be great for anyone who doesn’t like a lot of garlic or dill.

The ones on the right are Dan Koshanky’s Refrigerator Pickles, and I adore these. I made them last year with whole cucumbers, and I figured I had nothing to lose if I sliced the cukes this time. These pickles bring back fond memories of 2nd Ave Deli pickles and Russ and Sons. The trick is to use as much dill and garlic you can stand, and believe me, these pickles will pack a punch. A great lunch would be a cup of brown rice, a fried egg, and lots of these pickles. (I like hamburgers too, but I don’t make them very often. Maybe I should remedy that…). I followed the recipe as written and let it ferment (sit) on the counter for 2 days for the souring.

Details:
Cucumbers- Lil’ Farm
Garlic- Capritopia Farm
Dill- CatBriar Farm

And finally, some pickle p0rn:

dill pickle detail

mmm, dill pickles

salt crust

If you’re in Durham area, let me know if you’d like to try these pickles before venturing out to make them yourself.

Next up? Kimchi!

This entry was posted in recipes, reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Refrigerator Dill Pickles

  1. Pingback: Pickles « Traveling Ph.D.

Leave a Reply

