Tomato and Corn Salad

Tomato-corn-smoked mozarella salad

Happy Summer! In honor of the season, I thought I’d share a recipe using two classic summer ingredients, tomatoes and corn. The key to this salad is really good sweet corn, the kind that is a little creamy (or milky) and tastes like candy. My favorite corn comes from Brinkley Farms, and I have a little story to go with it.

Last year, my partner’s grandmother was slowly declining, and she was refusing to eat. On one visit, I brought along corn from Brinkley Farm, and she ate for what seemed like the first time in a long time, and she ate almost all the corn I brought along. I don’t know what it tasted like to her, but I hope it tasted like childhood summers, the easy living, and the general warmfuzzy feeling of simply good food. She’s gone now, but I still cherish the memory and every time I cut corn off the cob, I think about her.

Anyway… it’s good corn. Brinkley Farm also carries wonderful cornmeal, and it is “too many beautiful” as a friend of mine would say, but that’s a post for another day.

So the salad. All you really need is tomatoes and corn and the vinaigrette; the rest are optional.

Vinaigrette
(adapted from Soulemama)

  • 2 TB lemon juice (about half of a lemon, juiced)
  • 1 TB red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced or microplaned (optional) (Capritopia Farm)
  • Whisk together and set aside.

    Salad Veggies

    • 2 cups halved cherry or sungold tomatoes (Wild Scallions Farm)
    • 1/2 cup chopped basil (my garden-omitted this time because my basil shriveled due to lack of rain 😦 But you can get some at Ever Laughter Farm)
    • 2 cups cooked corn kernels- from about 4 cobs (Brinkley Farm)
    • 1/2 cup red onion, diced (Brinkley Farm)
    • Optional:

    • 1 avocado, diced
    • smoked mozzarella, grated or diced (Chapel Hill Creamery)

    Mix well with vinaigrette and keep in fridge for 20 mins or so for flavors to blend.

    last night's dinner

    This salad goes really well with zucchini fritters (recipe here). Now that’s what I call a classic summer meal.

    This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    3 Responses to Tomato and Corn Salad

    1. Eily says:

      Oh, corn salad!

      Years ago, I made a version of this salad for a group of friends. Instead of basil and onion, I used a bunch of green onions, chopped. In lieu of anything so official as a vinaigrette, I used a drizzle of olive oil, and the juice of a couple of limes (optional: add the zest, too). I add ~ 1/2 a cup (or more!) of crumbled feta. I think it’s the feta… people go ape shit for this salad. Ever since, it’s basically been demanded that I make it on a semi-regular basis. Might make for an interesting variation…

    2. ejchang says:

      ooh! i love the lime zest idea and we also have raw milk feta (tastier than normal feta) at the market. I’ll have to try that.

    3. Alicia says:

      Thank you, Love, for your thoughts about Honey and the corn. I had forgotten about how much she really enjoyed that dinner.

    Leave a Reply

    