Lentil and Spinach Curry

melting pot of a dish.

This is one of my better meals- I used whatever I had in the fridge and it all worked out wonderfully. This is a iron-packed dish and is just plain delicious. And probably great for detoxing.

I got inspired by a lentil and spinach curry recipe in Pinterest, added some modifications after consulting Madhur Jafrey’s Indian Cooking (probably my first “foodie” cookbook). On a whim, seeing all the cilantro I bought, I made cilantro chutney and I’m glad I did- the leftovers go well with eggs in the following days.

Tonight's dinner

Lentil and Spinach Curry (adapted from Kitchem Demure and Madhur Jafrey)

  • 4 TB canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 2 tsp curry powder (I used S&B curry powder because that’s what I had on hand- use whatever works for you)
  • 1 cup lentils
  • 2 cups water (I used leftover broth from making sneaky collards)
  • 1 bag spinach (from Elodie Farms)
  • salt an pepper to taste

optional: paneer cubes, basmati rice, naan

  1. Heat oil over high heat. When hot, add cumin seeds. When it gets fragrant, add onion, stirring until they get soft, then garlic, ginger, and curry powder. When you get a thick mixture, add lentils and water.
  2. Simmer until it gets soupy and thick, about 20-30 minutes.
  3. Add spinach and let it wilt into the lentil mixture.
  4. Serve with paneer cubes, rice, or naan. Goat cheese or even greek yogurt (I’m not that traditional) would work well too.

Coriander Chutney (adapted from Madhur Jaffrey)

  • 1 bunch cilantro (Maple Spring Farms)
  • 1/2-1 chile pepper (I used some of my pickled peppers that I grew myself- half of a serrano and half of a lemon hot)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp toasted cumin seeds
  • freshly ground black pepper
  1. Chop stems from cilantro.
  2. Add all ingredients in blender or food processor and mix well- you should have a vibrant green sauce.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lentil and Spinach Curry

  1. Pingback: Week in Food [7/52] | The Accidental Southerner

Leave a Reply

