Andrea Reusing’s Hot Slaw

July 8, 2011

So I have a confession. I love cabbage. I can’t stop eating it, and I miss it dearly in the summer. Part of it is because I grew up eating kimchi, which is spicy fermented cabbage, and it’s a taste that’s familiar and comforting for me. I love cabbage in all forms as well- braised, sauerkraut, stir-fried, you name it.

One of my favorite cookbooks is Cooking In the Moment by Andrea Reusing, and she has an excellent recipe for warm, buttery, sourish cabbage that has become a household favorite. It’s a sub-header recipe, meant to go with panfried catfish, but I’ve had it with vegetarian sausage and eggs for a hearty breakfast. Sometimes I just eat it by itself, just adding a tiny bit of sriracha, and savor every bite.

Photo May 30, 11 31 28 AM

Hot Slaw, adapted from Cooking In the Moment by Andrea Reusing

  • 1/2 head of a large cabbage, cored and thinly sliced (or rather, what will fit in your largest bowl with a bit of headspace. If you don’t have a large bowl, you can use a huge stockpot. (see more info below)
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 small serrano peppers or couple pinches of chili pepper flakes
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 garlic clove, mashed and peeled
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 4 TB unsalted butter
  • 2 bunches fresh cilantro, coarsely chopped
  1. Mix cabbage with lemon, lime, sugar, salt, and pepper. Set aside and let sit for at least 30 minutes or overnight (this is a nice thing to do before bed). Also, Reusing recommends about 16 cups of cabbage, but I’ve overflowed the bowl or the pan, and I prefer the sourness to be a bit more concentrated, so I use less cabbage than recommended, about 10 cups or so. I also toss the cabbage every now and then, if I remember to do it.
  2. When you are ready to cook the cabbage, heat up a cast iron pan under medium-high heat and add oil. Add onion and garlic, mix until soft and fragrant.
  3. Turn heat to high, and add the cabbage. You can drain and discard the liquid below, or save it for when the pan gets too dry. Cook cabbage until it becomes soft and translucent. (Reusing recommends hot and crispy.)
  4. Turn off heat and add butter and cilantro. Mix well and season with salt if necessary.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Andrea Reusing’s Hot Slaw

  1. Pingback: [21/52] Week in Food | The Accidental Southerner

Leave a Reply

