Savory Roasted Tofu

June 3, 2012

I have this notebook full of recipes – when I encounter a new recipe, I write it down before I start cooking so I remember what to do, and sometimes I add notes to the book.

This recipe is from the beginning of the book, way back in 2008, and I didn’t find it impressive at first. However, I’ve changed a lot in the way I cook tofu, and I think I have a better grasp on how to best cook it.

This is a savory version of tofu, for when you want something not too Asian-based.

Savory Roasted Tofu (adapted from F. Pea)

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 2 TB soy sauce
  • 1 TB honey
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 4 cloves garlic, microplaned
  • 1 block tofu, pressed for at least 20 minutes.
  • 2 handfuls of shiitake mushrooms, destemmed and sliced
  1. Mix the marinade (oil, vinegar, soy sauce, honey, thyme, mustard, garlic) and set aside.
  2. Chop the tofu into cubes and add the marinade. Make sure to coat tofu well (this is better done in a baking dish).
  3. Marinate overnight or at least 8 hours.
  4. When ready, preheat oven to 450 F. Put tofu without marinade (reserve the marinade) on a baking sheet and roast for 20-35 minutes, turning halfway through.
  5. Put mushrooms into the marinade and coat well. Place into the same oven and roast for 35-40 minutes until crispy and slightly charred.

Serving suggestions: in a hero/sub, on a salad, as a side dish…

The salad in the above photo is just a bowl of lettuce, some cauliflower and carrot chow chow, chopped tomatoes, smoked farmers’ cheese (from Chapel Hill Creamery), savory tofu and mushrooms. It was inspired by all the ingredients you normally use in a sandwich, and I wanted a breadless version.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

